on the wagon

186198.jpg

For clarification, I’m not sure I’ve ever weighed just 128.2 lbs.

 

I weighed myself yesterday. It’s my new start weight. I could tell you what it is, but I won’t. I’m definitely more of a how-do-my-pants-fit kind of person when it comes to weight and not so fixated on the number, but it’s heavier than I’ve ever been (aside from when I was pregnant, and that doesn’t count). It’s actually 23.8 lbs. heavier than my pre-pregnancy weight (which happened to be the same number both times). After Isaac, I lost a little, then gained a lot. It’s time to get back on the proverbial wagon.

And what better time? I just spent 10 days eating and drinking non-stop during my vacation, and it was oh so good, but now it’s time (long overdue, actually) to get back into a better routine.

During the summer, when I’m not on lunch-packing duty, it’s easy to be lazy and default to buying lunch, which is inevitably something calorie-laden. I don’t have breakfast as regularly either because I’m not in my get-everyone-fed-and-out-the-door mode, so that plays a role in my eating for the rest of the day. It’s summer, so I tend to justify more casual eating and drinking at odd hours. Excuses, excuses, excuses.

Part of me feels inclined to just wait and align my new leaf with the return of the new school year, but I know I can’t put it off. I’m guilty of being the type of person who loves a fresh start on a Monday. Meh, can’t start dieting on a Thursday; might as well wait until the start of a new week. Oh, can’t start dieting this week; I’m on vacation next week. I’ve already eaten one “bad” meal today so the rest of the day is a write-off anyway. Excuses, excuses, excuses.

I’ve eaten great all day, I can justify a treat. I ran at lunch so I can get away with some extra calories. I work hard and I’m tired so I deserve takeout. Oh, the excuses! I seem to have a mental excuse for just about everything. I’m my own worst enemy.

I love food. I can’t diet that away. I just need to start making better, more balanced choices and enjoy more reasonable portions. Calories in, calories out. I know how simple it is; I just need to be accountable.

So I’ll start here, writing about it weekly with a few key areas of focus:

  • Nutrition: Out with the junk and in with the healthy, whole foods. I need to focus on creating a more balanced vegetarian diet that includes more protein, B12 and iron. Part of this will also be visiting my GP for updated blood work.
  • Activity: I really need to be accountable to just myself on this one. While I love the accountability of exercising with others, but I really want to get into a routine in which I’m exercising for me. I’m going to try walking while listening to podcasts, yoga before bed and creating the ideal circumstances to make exercise a habit.
  • Overall health: I need to drink more water, reduce stress, go to bed earlier, limit caffeine and alcohol, find my zen … all of it. A big part of this for me are routines. Be in bed with the lights out by a certain time, keep my water bottle with me at all times, take breaks from my desk during the day. It’s not hard; it’s just a matter of conscious participation.

 

One thought on “on the wagon

Leave a Reply

